Innsbruck, 22 September 1973

Dr. Hans Koechler (center) presiding over the founding session of the Euregio Alpina at the Government House in Innsbruck, Tyrol (22 September 1973). To his right: Eduard Wallnöfer, Governor of Tyrol; to his left: Ludwig von Moos, former Minister of Justice and Federal President of the Swiss Confederation.

The Euregio Alpina was a transnational working group comprising regional entities from Austria, Italy, Germany and Switzerland. The founding session was attended by representatives of the states (provinces) of Tyrol, South Tyrol (Alto Adige), Trentino, Salzburg, Steiermark, Vorarlberg, Slovenia, Berne, Ticino, Uri, Graubünden (Grisons), Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Département des Alpes Maritimes, Département des Alpes de Haute Provence, and Bavaria. The initiative preceded the development of the concept of the transborder regions (Euro Regions) within the framework of the European Union.